Shortlist
Menu

DO · Fort Smith, AR · private · applies through AACOMAS

Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine

Known as ARCOM

COCA: AccreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
498.7MCAT mean
3.56GPA mean
150Class size
12%In-state matriculants
—Secondary fee
—Secondary deadline
$60,500Tuition + fees, in state
$60,500Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
The school's page does not state AP, community-college, online or pass/fail policies for these courses.
CourseStatusHoursLabNotes from the school
Biological Sciences with Lab
Required8Yesmust be taken for credit and passed with 2.0 or better; 'Foreign coursework cannot be used to meet this requirement.'
Biochemistry
Required3Not stated
Inorganic Chemistry with Laboratory
Required8Yes'8 hours of general/college chemistry will fulfill this requirement.'
Organic Chemistry with Laboratory
Required8Yes
Physics with Laboratory
Required8Yes
Additional Science Electives
Required4Not statedasterisk on the page is not explained
English Composition and Literature
Required6Not stated
Genetics, human physiology, human anatomy, immunology, epidemiology, humanities, communication skills
Recommended—Not statedrecommended, not required

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Yes 'ARCOM does not accept international students.' 'Applicants must be U.S. citizens or hold a permanent residency card.' Preference for applicants 'especially those from Arkansas and South Central United States'.
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
Not stated

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-one
Format
traditional FAQ: 'Your interviewers will include one faculty member and one community member.' Interviews begin in late July and continue through April.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not required source
AAMC PREview
Not stated

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$60,500$60,500
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class

Matriculated
150
MCAT (mean)
498.7
GPA (mean)
3.56
In-state
12%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

In-state/regional preference (college site): Preference is given to students from rural and underserved environments ... especially those from Arkansas and South Central United States. | Accreditation statement on college site: ARCOM is Accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA). On April 23, 2025, ARCOM was granted the status of Accreditation with Exceptional Outcome, the highest status awarded to a program by the COCA. This accreditation status has been granted for 10 years. ARCOM's next accreditation review will be in AY 2034-2035. 'ARCOM does not have a set minimum GPA or MCAT score'; competitive applicants typically have overall GPA above 3.5, science GPA above 3.4, and 500+ MCAT. FAQ on course substitutions: 'Typically, no unless it is for the English requirement.' Minimum 90 credit hours or three-fourths of a degree. Class of 150; transfers only in rare circumstances (April 15 deadline).

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.