Shortlist
Menu

DO · Las Cruces, NM · private · applies through AACOMAS

Burrell College of Health Sciences School of Osteopathic Medicine

Known as Burrell

COCA: AccreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
500MCAT mean · 2025
3.47GPA mean
300Class size
—In-state matriculants
—Secondary fee
May 15, 2027Secondary deadline
$70,622Tuition + fees, in state
$70,622Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: YesCommunity college: Not statedOnline courses: Not statedPass/fail: Not statedBiochemistry may replace Organic II (stated)
CourseStatusHoursLabPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
Biology with lab
Required8YesNot statedYesNot statedNot stated8 credit hours 'Or equivalent to one year with laboratory component'; minimum grade of C
General/Inorganic Chemistry with lab
Required8YesNot statedYesNot statedNot stated8 credit hours or equivalent to one year with lab; 'Biochemistry hours may count towards fulfilling hour requirements for General/Inorganic Chemistry.'
Organic Chemistry with lab
Required8YesNot statedYesNot statedNot stated8 credit hours or equivalent to one year with lab; biochemistry hours may count toward this requirement
Physics with lab
Required8YesNot statedYesNot statedNot stated8 credit hours or equivalent to one year with lab
Science elective
Required3Not statedNot statedYesNot statedNot statedrecommended options: behavioral sciences, biochemistry, cell biology, genetics, human anatomy, immunology, molecular biology, neurosciences, physiology
English
Recommended6Not statedNot statedYesNot statedNot statedEnglish courses, 6 credit hours, recommended

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Yes Pre-screening requires U.S. citizenship or U.S. permanent residency (permanent residents provide a copy of their resident card). How-to-apply: 'at this time the College is unable to consider international applicants.' 'Applications are welcomed from both in-state and out-of-state candidates.' Campuses: Las Cruces, NM and Melbourne, FL.
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
Not stated

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneVirtual
Format
virtual How-to-apply: 'Interviews will be conducted virtually via Zoom'.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Not stated

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
—
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
May 15, 2027 2027-05-15
Who receives it
'Applicants must submit the secondary application to become eligible for further review.' Primary AACOMAS deadline 4/30/2027.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$70,622$70,622
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class 2025

Applicants
7,419
Matriculated
300
MCAT (mean)
500
GPA (mean)
3.47 · science 3.30

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

In-state/regional preference (college site): Admissions requirements for the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine program are applied consistently across the New Mexico and Florida campuses, and applications are welcomed from both in-state and out-of-state candidates. [How to Apply:] Applicants from both in-state and out-of-state are encouraged to apply; at this time the College is unable to consider international applicants. | Accreditation statement on college site: The Burrell College of Health Sciences is Accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA), operating under authority granted to it by the US Department of Education, to offer an academic program leading to the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (D.O.) degree. [2026-2027 Catalog:] The Burrell College of Health Sciences is programmatically accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) for its Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (D.O.) degree program. In 2024, the College was awarded, accreditation by the COCA. ... HLC and COCA accreditation extends to both campus locations in Las Cruces (NM) and Melbourne (FL). | AACOM profile accreditation text: The Burrell College of Health Sciences is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). HLC serves as the institutional accreditor for the College. | Campuses per COCA directory: Burrell College School of Osteopathic Medicine (Las Cruces, NM; main; first class 2016); Burrell College of Health Sciences School of Osteopathic Medicine - Florida Campus (Melbourne, FL; additional location; first class 2024) 'No set minimum GPA requirements'; recommended cumulative science GPA of at least 3.0. Baccalaureate degree conferred by July 1 of matriculation year. Foreign transcripts must be evaluated for U.S. equivalence and sent to AACOMAS.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.