MD · Los Angeles, CA · private · applies through AMCAS
Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science College of Medicine
Known as Charles R. Drew (CDU)
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Pass/fail | AP credit | Online | Community college | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biochemistry CHEM | Recommended | 3 | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | |
| Biology BIOL | Required | 6 | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | |
| Chemistry CHEM | Required | 6 | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | |
| Composition & Rhetoric ENGL | Required | 4 | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | |
| Mathematics MATH | Required | 4 | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Calculus |
| Organic Chemistry CHEM | Required | 6 | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | |
| Physics PHYS | Required | 4 | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | |
| Psychology BESS | Recommended | 3 | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | |
| Sociology BESS | Recommended | 3 | No | No | No | Yes | Yes |
Community-college pathways
community college courses are accepted for prerequisite courses (including English, Biology, Calculus, Chemistry, and Physics)
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Admission policies, in the school's words
The charge of the Admissions Committee is to select candidates for admission to the COM MD Program according to the policy and guarantee the selection of prospective medical students for admission is not influenced by any political or financial factors. The MD Program Admissions Committee will use a holistic admissions process that prioritizes sustained, demonstrated community service in under-resourced communities, and provides balanced consideration to academic performance and other items like “distance traveled,” firstgeneration college students, socio-economically disadvantaged students (pell grant recipients), veterans, and applicants currently serving in the military.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Yes Out-of-state applicants can be accepted.
- Canadian applicants
- No
- International applicants
- No
- DACA applicants
- No
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- Virtual multiple miniinterviews with faculty
- Invitations sent
- September 2026
- Typical interview day
- Based on a thorough and comparative evaluation of the AMCAS application, supplemental information, and letters of recommendation, the candidate receives a request for virtual interview sessions with CDU faculty. It will consist of two virtual interviews
- Regional interviews
- Regional interviews are not available.
- Video interviews
- Yes
- School's admissions page says
- All interviews are conducted virtually with CDU faculty (MMI vs traditional not stated).
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Not required source
- AAMC PREview
- Not used "We are not using PREview scores in the admissions process" source
- Latest MCAT considered
- September 01, 2026
- Oldest MCAT considered
- July 2023
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Secondary application
- Required
- Yes
- Fee
- —
- Fee waiver available
- Not stated
- Deadline
- Dec 1, 2026 December 01, 2026
- Who receives it
- Screened applicants after a preliminary review not all applicants receive a secondary
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Letters of evaluation
- Committee letter
- Accepted
- Letter packet
- Accepted
- Individual letters
- Accepted
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Waitlist and deposit
- Typical waitlist positions
- 90
- Offers made from the waitlist
- 10
- Procedure
- We will call and email the next person in line by rank if a position is open
- Deposit required
- Yes in state $50 · out of state $50
- Deposit due
- April 29, 2026
- Refundable / applied to tuition
- No Yes
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $71,616 | $71,616 |
| Health insurance | $5,066 | $5,066 |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | $137,117 | $137,117 |
98% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $0.
Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026
- Applications
- 6,639 (37.3% in-state)
- Matriculants
- 60 (71.7% in-state, 28.3% out-of-state; 55% women)
- Applications per seat
- 111
Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Entering class
- Matriculated
- 60
Source: the school's published class profile, retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.
Transfer applications
No
Mission statement
• The mission of the College of Medicine is to provide education, research and clinical service in the context of community engagement in order to train physician leaders who promote wellness, who provide care with excellence and compassion, and who are committed to transforming the health of diverse and underserved communities. • Vision Statement: Excellent health and wellness for all in a world without health disparities.
Notes
Independent CDU MD program; FAQ states each cohort is 60 students (total enrollment 240). No GPA/MCAT class statistics published; the school refers applicants to the AAMC MSAR. Only applicants with an MCAT of 500 or higher advance to the next stage; MCAT must be attempted by September of the year before admission and retaken if more than six years old at matriculation; prerequisites must be within the past 10 years. Supplemental application has no fee.
Sources for this page
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- LCME Directory - Accredited Programs
- AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.cdrewu.edu/academics/program/cdumd/admissions-process/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.cdrewu.edu/academics/program/cdumd/admissions-faqs/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.