Shortlist
Menu

MD · New York, NY · public · applies through AMCAS

CUNY School of Medicine

Known as CUNY (Sophie Davis)

LCME: FullWebsiteAdmissions pageClass profileSDadmissions@med.cuny.edu(212) 650-7718
—MCAT
—GPA
—Class size
98%In-state matriculants (AAMC 2025)
—Secondary fee
—Secondary deadline
$41,911Tuition + fees, in state
$69,571Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school

No specific courses listed in the AAMC report. See the admission policies below for competency expectations.

Community-college pathways

Upward transfer: NoAccelerated: NoSupplemental: No

This is not applicable. The B.S./M.D. program enrollment is for high school students who apply during their senior year of high school. Community college credit may only be accepted if the student completed course work as a high school student.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Admission policies, in the school's words

Admissions information listed is for year 1 of the 7 year B.S./M.D. program. There is separate admission into the medical school portion. MCAT not required for admission into medical school division of the program.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Yes Out of state students are offered admission.
Canadian applicants
Yes One matriculated
International applicants
Yes One matriculated
DACA applicants
Yes None
DACA details
None

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneVirtualIn person
Format
All applicants invited to three interviews and meet with a current student, a member of the Admissions Committee, and a faculty or administrator interviewer. All interviews are held on campus.
Invitations sent
mid-January
Typical interview day
Interviews are all face-toface and take place on campus. The entire session lasts approximately 3 hours. During COVID, interviews take place virtually for 3 hours. Note: interview data reflect the undergraduate portion of the BS/MD program.
Regional interviews
no
Video interviews
N/A

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not on official list source
AAMC PREview
Not stated source
Latest MCAT considered
—
Oldest MCAT considered
—

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
—
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Who receives it
All applicants must also submit an application online to the CUNY School of Medicine Office of Admissions at the same as the primary application for CUNY. The deadline for CUNY is February 1st.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Letters of evaluation

Committee letter
Not stated
Letter packet
Not stated
Individual letters
Accepted

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Waitlist and deposit

Typical waitlist positions
Approximately 45 (for undergraduate admissions)
Offers made from the waitlist
1
Procedure
Wait-listed applicants are notified of acceptance by May 15th annually. The number of wait-listed students admitted annually varies according to space availability.
Deposit required
Yes in state $100 · out of state $100
Deposit due
May 1, 2026
Refundable / applied to tuition
No Yes

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$41,911$69,571
Health insurance$0$0
Total cost of attendance, year 1$69,751$97,411

86% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $218,695.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026

Applications
59 (98.3% in-state)
Matriculants
59 (98.3% in-state, 1.7% out-of-state; 66.1% women)
Applications per seat
1

Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class 2023

Applicants
1,349
Accepted
123

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Transfer applications

case-by-case Contact Name: Mr. Jerrold G. Erves Phone Number: 2126507718 Email Address: jgerves@med.cuny.edu Website: https://medicine.cuny.edu/about/

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Mission statement

The mission of CUNY School of Medicine is to produce broadly-educated, highly-skilled medical practitioners committed to providing quality health services in communities historically underserved by primary care providers. The School seeks to recruit and educate a talented and motivated pool of students for its BS/MD and Physician Assistant programs, thereby expanding access to medical education for individuals from socioeconomically disadvantaged backgrounds and historically underrepresented communities. CUNY School of Medicine programs achieve academic excellence through rigorous curricula in clinically-oriented basic sciences, population health, research, exposure to a variety of healthcare settings, and professional development.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Notes

Not a conventional MD entry point: the only route is the accelerated 7-year Sophie Davis BS/MD program entered from high school (cumulative HS GPA of 85 across the first three years; SAT/ACT optional through Spring 2027; three essays, five recommendation letters; transfer track for students with at most one semester of college and a 3.5 GPA). The MCAT is not required for entry (fact sheet: the school 'eliminate[s] the MCAT as a roadblock to entry'). January 2024 fact sheet: BS/MD cohort entering 2023 — 1,349 applicants, 123 accepted (9.1%), average class size 65–85; students need a 3.5 cumulative / 3.3 science GPA to progress to the MD phase (for cohorts graduating from the BS program in 2026–27 onward). GPA/MCAT matriculant metrics are therefore not applicable.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.