DO · West Des Moines, IA · private · applies through AACOMAS
Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine
Known as DMU-COM
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school- 'CLEP, AP, and Pass/Fail credits cannot be used to meet prerequisite requirements.'
- Pass/Fail credits cannot be used to meet prerequisite requirements.
| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Pass/fail | AP credit | Online | Community college | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biology/Zoology | Required | 8 | Yes | No | No | Not stated | Not stated | 8 semester hours; labs required when available; 'Prerequisite coursework requires a grade of C or higher.' |
| General Chemistry | Required | 8 | Yes | No | No | Not stated | Not stated | 8 semester hours; labs required when available |
| Organic Chemistry | Required | 4 | Yes | No | No | Not stated | Not stated | 4 semester hours; labs required when available |
| Biochemistry | Required | 3 | Not stated | No | No | Not stated | Not stated | 3 semester hours |
| Physics | Required | 8 | Yes | No | No | Not stated | Not stated | 8 semester hours; labs required when available; up to 3 semester hours of statistics may substitute for 3 semester hours of physics |
| English, English Composition, Speech or Literature | Required | 6 | Not stated | No | No | Not stated | Not stated | 6 semester hours |
| Cell biology, microbiology, immunology, genetics, physiology, anatomy | Recommended | — | Not stated | No | No | Not stated | Not stated | recommended, not required |
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Not stated FAQ: 'Only U.S. citizens or legal permanent residents are eligible for admission to DMU's DO program.' Applicants with pending permanent residency are not eligible. Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited U.S. college or university. Graduates of MD/DO or equivalent programs (U.S. or international) are ineligible.
- International applicants
- No
- DACA applicants
- Not stated
Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- traditional virtual 'A virtual dean's overview featuring a presentation about the program and a live Q&A with current students' and 'A live virtual interview with a DMU faculty member.'
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Not stated
- AAMC PREview
- Accepted source
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $68,620 | $68,620 |
| Health insurance | — | — |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | — | — |
Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.
Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Entering class 2025
- Matriculated
- 229
- MCAT (mean)
- 507
- GPA (published)
- 3.70 · science 3.60
- In-state
- 16%
Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.
Notes
Accreditation statement on college site: DMU's College of Osteopathic Medicine is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation of the American Osteopathic Association. (university accreditation page adds: 'We are fully accredited by the COCA through 2028.') | AACOM profile accreditation text: Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA). The university is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. Recommended minimum GPA 2.8 cumulative and science ('all applications are considered'); successful applicants typically around 3.7 cumulative, 3.6 science, 507 MCAT. Transcripts must be from regionally accredited U.S. institutions. $750 seat deposits; background check and drug screen.
Sources for this page
- aacom
- AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) · AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- https://catalog.dmu.edu/osteopathic-medicine/osteopathic-medicine-do/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://osteopathic.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/become-a-doctor/u-s-colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/detail-pages/com/des-moines-university-college-of-osteopathic-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/docs/default-source/become-doctor/us-com-directory.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/docs/default-source/research-reports/applicants-matriculants-by-com-2009-2025.xlsx?sfvrsn=a3634af4_13 · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/explore-med-schools/choose-do-explorer · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dmu.edu/about/accreditation/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dmu.edu/admission · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dmu.edu/com/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dmu.edu/com/admission/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dmu.edu/do/accreditation/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dmu.edu/do/admission-requirements/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dmu.edu/do/admissions-process/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dmu.edu/do/class-profile/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dmu.edu/do/faq/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dmu.edu/do/how-to-apply/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dmu.edu/do/program-outcomes · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.