Shortlist
Menu

DO · Indiana, PA · public · applies through AACOMAS

Indiana University of Pennsylvania College of Osteopathic Medicine

Known as IUP COM

COCA: Pre-accreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
—MCAT
—GPA
120Class size
—In-state matriculants
—Secondary fee
—Secondary deadline
$43,200Tuition + fees, in state
$65,000Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
Biochemistry may replace Organic II (stated)The school's page does not state AP, community-college, online or pass/fail policies for these courses.
CourseStatusHoursNotes from the school
Biological sciences
Required88 semester hours; lab not stated
Physics
Required88 semester hours, or 4 semester hours of physics plus 4 semester hours of advanced math (statistics, calculus, etc.)
General and/or inorganic chemistry
Required88 semester hours
Organic chemistry
Required88 semester hours; 'Biochemistry may substitute for 4 semester credit hours of Organic Chemistry.'
English and/or composition
Required66 semester hours
Behavioral sciences or IUP Crimson Core
Required6may include philosophy, ethics, anthropology, sociology, or psychology
Additional biomedical science (anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, immunology, microbiology, virology, genetics, medical terminology)
Recommended4at least 4 additional semester hours at the 200 level or above recommended

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Not stated Page states applicants must be a U.S. citizen or permanent U.S. resident, and separately that international applicants are considered case-by-case. Foreign transcripts must be evaluated by an AACOMAS-approved company.
International applicants
Case-by-case
DACA applicants
Not stated

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-one
Format
News item notes the college held its inaugural student interview day on Sept. 4; no format details.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Not stated

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$43,200$65,000
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class

Matriculated
120

Source: the school's published class profile, retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

In-state/regional preference (college site): IUPCOM is focused on recruiting promising students from Pennsylvania's State System of Higher Education who are more likely to stay and practice within the mostly rural regions of the Commonwealth. | Accreditation statement on college site: The IUP College of Osteopathic Medicine (IUPCOM) is currently in pre-accreditation status – which means that IUPCOM can recruit and admit students to the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (D.O.) program and is approved to teach the curriculum for the D.O. degree – and is now actively accepting applications. The college has earned this status from the American Osteopathic Association's Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) ... with the goal of welcoming its inaugural class of osteopathic medical students in fall 2027. | AACOM profile accreditation text: The Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) - Preaccreditation Overall GPA of 3.4 or higher described as the threshold for a competitive application; science GPA 3.0 or higher (competitiveness guidelines). 90 semester hours or three-fourths of the degree required; bachelor's before matriculation. New college; mission-driven toward rural or urban underserved service.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.