Shortlist
Menu

DO · Hagerstown, MD · private · applies through AACOMAS

Meritus School of Osteopathic Medicine

Known as MSOM

COCA: Pre-accreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
500.5MCAT mean
3.55GPA mean
145Class size
27%In-state matriculants
$50Secondary fee
May 7, 2027Secondary deadline
$59,500Tuition + fees, in state
$59,500Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
Biochemistry may replace Organic II (stated)The school's page does not state AP, community-college, online or pass/fail policies for these courses.
CourseStatusHoursLabNotes from the school
English I
Required3Not statedaccepted: English I, Basic Composition, Creative Writing, Journalism, Literature, Poetry, Rhetoric, Technical Writing, Writing, Scientific Writing, Medical Terminology; grade of 'C' or better, completed prior to May 2027
English II
Required3Not statedsame accepted list as English I
Physics I (with Lab)
Required4YesGeneral Physics I with lab (calculus- or algebra-based) or Physical Chemistry I with lab
Physics II (with Lab)
Required4YesGeneral Physics II with lab or Physical Chemistry II with lab
General Chemistry I (with Lab)
Required4YesGeneral, Inorganic, Physical, or Analytical Chemistry I with lab
General Chemistry II (with Lab)
Required4YesGeneral, Inorganic, Physical, or Analytical Chemistry II with lab
Biology/Zoology I (with Lab)
Required4YesBiology I, Zoology I, Molecular or Cell Biology I, Anatomy & Physiology I, Anatomy I, Physiology I, Microbiology I, Pathology I (all with lab)
Biology/Zoology II (with Lab)
Required4Yessame pattern as Biology/Zoology I, level II (all with lab)
Organic Chemistry I (with Lab)
Required4YesOrganic Chemistry I, Bioorganic Chemistry I, or Biochemistry I (all with lab)
Organic Chemistry II (with Lab)
Required4YesOrganic Chemistry II, Bioorganic Chemistry II, or Biochemistry II (all with lab)
Anatomy & Physiology, Behavioral Science, Biochemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Multicultural Studies, Physiology, Public Health/Epidemiology, Pathology, Pharmacology
Recommended—Not statedrecommended electives; Anatomy & Physiology, Biochemistry, Microbiology, and Physiology are 'highly preferred'

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Not stated Applicants 'must be a U.S. Citizen or a Permanent U.S. Resident'; bachelor's degree from a U.S. accredited institution by the end of June 2027.
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
Not stated

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneVirtualIn person
Format
hybrid FAQ: 'If invited, students will participate in a virtual and in-person interview.' Decisions follow 2-4 weeks after the interview.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Not stated

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
$50
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
May 7, 2027 2027-05-07
Who receives it
Secondary (two short-answer questions and a short survey) for invited applicants; $50 non-refundable, waived with an approved AACOMAS fee waiver; deadline May 7, 2027, 11:59 p.m. EST. Primary application must be verified by AACOMAS and received by April 30, 2027.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$59,500$59,500
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class

Matriculated
145
MCAT (mean)
500.5
GPA (mean)
3.55
In-state
27%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

Accreditation statement on college site: Meritus School of Osteopathic Medicine (MSOM), Hagerstown, Maryland, has been recognized as Pre-Accreditation Status for the purpose of institutional and programmatic accreditation through the American Osteopathic Association Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA). | AACOM profile accreditation text: MSOM has received the status of Pre-Accreditation by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA). Pre-accreditation is the highest level a school can achieve prior to graduating the first class. No minimum GPA stated; most competitive candidates have an overall GPA of 3.5 and a science GPA of at least 3.5. The requirements table shows a 2.0 'Grade' column while the text requires a 'C' or better.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.