Shortlist
Menu

DO · Fort Lauderdale, FL · private · applies through AACOMAS

Nova Southeastern University Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine

Known as NSU-KPCOM

COCA: AccreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
504.5MCAT mean
3.71GPA mean
322Class size
—In-state matriculants
$50Secondary fee
Mar 1, 2027Secondary deadline
$73,407Tuition + fees, in state
$73,407Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: Not statedCommunity college: YesOnline courses: YesPass/fail: Not stated
CourseStatusHoursLabPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
Biochemistry
Required3Not statedNot statedNot statedYesYesMinimum 2.0 GPA in biochemistry
English/humanities
Required6Not statedNot statedNot statedYesYesIncluding at least 3 hours of English; minimum 2.0 GPA
Biological science
Required8YesNot statedNot statedYesYes'biology with lab, embryology, genetics, microbiology, physiology, etc.'; minimum 2.0 GPA
General chemistry
Required8YesNot statedNot statedYesYesWith lab; minimum 2.0 GPA
Organic chemistry
Required8YesNot statedNot statedYesYesWith lab; minimum 2.0 GPA
Physics
Required8YesNot statedNot statedYesYesWith lab; minimum 2.0 GPA

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Not stated FAQ: international students not currently considered; applications accepted from 'U.S. citizens and those with valid U.S. permanent resident cards'. Requirements page still describes TOEFL/IELTS minimums for foreign nationals whose native language is not English and requires evaluation of foreign credentials; resident aliens submit a copy of the Resident Alien card.
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
Not stated

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneVirtualIn person
Format
in_person By invitation; full-day experience with a private interview with a small team of faculty, campus tour, lunch, and Q&A with the dean; page mentions travel, overnight accommodations and parking. Virtual option not stated; format not stated.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Not stated

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
$50
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Mar 1, 2027 March 1
Who receives it
Online secondary sent after the AACOMAS application is complete; $50 nonrefundable; NSU supplemental due March 1; AACOMAS fee waiver recipients who interview may qualify for an NSU waiver.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$73,407$73,407
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class

Applicants
7,500
Matriculated
322
MCAT (mean)
504.5
GPA (mean)
3.71

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

Accreditation statement on college site: The NSU College of Osteopathic Medicine has been granted accreditation by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA). | AACOM profile accreditation text: NSU-KPCOM is accredited by the AOA's Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation. Nova Southeastern University is accredited by the Southeastern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges | Campuses per COCA directory: Nova Southeastern University Kiran C Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine (Fort Lauderdale, FL; main; first class 1981); Nova Southeastern University Kiran C Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine - Clearwater (Clearwater, FL; additional location; first class 2019) Minimum 3.0 cumulative and science GPA; competitive GPAs 'can start at 3.5'; average MCAT about 505-506. AACOMAS deadline January 15; all NSU submittals due March 1; rolling admission. Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution required. Tampa Bay Regional Campus (Clearwater) is a branch site for the D.O. program.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.