MD · Stony Brook, NY · public · applies through AMCAS
Renaissance School of Medicine at Stony Brook University
Known as Stony Brook
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Pass/fail | AP credit | Online | Community college | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biology BIOL | Recommended | 8 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Labs are recommended not required. |
| Chemistry CHEM | Recommended | 15 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Labs are recommended not required. |
| Composition & Rhetoric ENGL | Recommended | 3 | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Physics PHYS | Recommended | 4 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Lab is recommended not required. |
| Psychology BESS | Recommended | 3 | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Other recommended courses would be Anthropology and Sociology. |
| Statistics MATH | Recommended | 3 | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Admission policies, in the school's words
Please visit our website for information about our admission policies and procedures: https://renaissance.stonybrookmedicine.edu/admissions
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Yes Applications are accepted from Out-of-state applicants.
- Canadian applicants
- Yes Applications are accepted from Canadian applicants.
- International applicants
- Yes Applications are accepted from International applicants.
- DACA applicants
- Yes Applications are accepted from DACA applicants.
- DACA details
- Applications are accepted from DACA applicants.
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- Virtual Interviews
- Invitations sent
- In August
- Typical interview day
- Applicants invited to interview will have 2 separate virtual interviews with a member of the Committee on Admissions. The Office of Admissions hosts virtual informational sessions for interviewed applicants on Wednesdays and Thursdays. The program includes a Medical Student Session and sessions with the Assistant Deans of Admissions, Diversity and Student Affairs and Financial Aid.
- Regional interviews
- Regional interviews are not available.
- Video interviews
- Interviews are conducted via a virtual platform.
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Required source · secondary lists: MSI required, IMA —
- AAMC PREview
- Not used "We are not using PREview scores in the admissions process" source
- Latest MCAT considered
- September 15, 2026
- Oldest MCAT considered
- January 2024
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Secondary application
- Required
- Yes
- Fee
- $100
- Fee waiver available
- Yes
- Deadline
- Dec 11, 2026 December 11, 2026
- Who receives it
- All applicants
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Letters of evaluation
- Committee letter
- Preferred
- Letter packet
- Preferred
- Individual letters
- Accepted
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Waitlist and deposit
- Typical waitlist positions
- ~300
- Offers made from the waitlist
- 35
- Procedure
- Our process is on a rolling admissions cycle.
- Deposit required
- Yes in state $100 · out of state $100
- Deposit due
- May 8, 2026
- Refundable / applied to tuition
- No Yes
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $50,958 | $73,608 |
| Health insurance | $5,701 | $5,701 |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | $90,143 | $112,793 |
66% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $234,570.
Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026
- Applications
- 5,689 (37.1% in-state)
- Matriculants
- 141 (86.5% in-state, 13.5% out-of-state; 66% women)
- Applications per seat
- 40
Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Entering class 2026
- Applicants
- 5,624
- Matriculated
- 136
- GPA (mean)
- 3.92
- In-state
- 81%
Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.
Transfer applications
No Contact Name: Office of Admissions, Renaissance School of Medicine Phone Number: 6314442113 Email Address: somadmissions@stonybrookmedicine.edu Website: https://renaissance.stonybrookmedicine.edu/admissions
Mission statement
We are committed to recruiting and training diverse students, clinicians and physicianscientists in biomedical sciences to improve the health of all individuals and populations through education, outreach, compassionate care and research that discovers the biology of disease and informs novel preventive, diagnostic and therapeutic strategies.
Notes
Facts page, Fall 2026 matriculating class: 136 students selected from 5,624 applications; '3.92 cumulative GPA' (mean/median not specified; recorded as mean); '89th percentile overall MCAT average score' (no raw score published); 81% from New York State; 28% from lower socioeconomic backgrounds. Requirements: 'Successful completion of CASPer is mandatory'; MCAT within three years of matriculation; international applicants welcome (financial aid only for U.S. citizens/permanent residents); supplemental application required (fee not stated). Search snippet of the about page cites a 2023 entering class with median science GPA 3.86, total GPA 3.89 and MCAT 515 (5,470 applicants, 849 interviewed, 468 accepted) — not fetched directly.
Sources for this page
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- LCME Directory - Accredited Programs
- AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://renaissance.stonybrookmedicine.edu/about/facts · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://renaissance.stonybrookmedicine.edu/admissions/procedures · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.