Shortlist
Menu

DO · Stratford, NJ · public · applies through AACOMAS

Rowan-Virtua School of Osteopathic Medicine

Known as Rowan-Virtua SOM

COCA: AccreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
509MCAT mean
—GPA
269Class size
—In-state matriculants
—Secondary fee
Mar 15, 2027Secondary deadline
$50,680Tuition + fees, in state
$78,086Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
The school's page does not state AP, community-college, online or pass/fail policies for these courses.
CourseStatusHoursLabNotes from the school
Biology
Required8YesWith lab; 'C or better' at a regionally accredited institution
Organic Chemistry
Required8YesWith lab
Inorganic Chemistry
Required8YesWith lab
Physics
Required8YesWith lab
College-level Mathematics
Required6Not stated'Computer science or statistics may satisfy up to 3 hours'
Behavioral Science
Required6Not statedPsychology, sociology, or cultural anthropology
English
Required6Not stated3 hours English composition plus 3 additional hours from the English department
Additional science (Biochemistry, Anatomy & Physiology, Microbiology suggested)
Recommended6Not stated6 additional science hours 'strongly recommended'

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Yes FAQ: the school 'accepts competitive applicants from all over the country and around the globe' and gives no preference to in-state applicants; foreign coursework must be evaluated (WES, Josef Silny, AACRAO IES, or ECE) and submitted to AACOMAS. Baccalaureate required to matriculate (articulation-agreement students with 75% of credits excepted). The Admissions Committee 'may waive or invoke specific requirements at its discretion'.
International applicants
Yes
DACA applicants
Not stated

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneVirtual
Format
traditional virtual 'All interviews will be conducted virtually for the entire 2026/2027 DO application cycle' (WebEx preferred); 'typically a board panel interview with members of the Admissions Committee', approximately 30-45 minutes; required pre-interview orientation; invitations from early September through end of April.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Accepted source

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
—
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Mar 15, 2027 March 15 of the enrollment year
Who receives it
Link sent after AACOMAS verification; fee amount not stated; AACOMAS fee waivers accepted (allow two weeks).

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$50,680$78,086
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class

Matriculated
269
MCAT (mean)
509

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

In-state/regional preference (college site): Do you give preference to in-state applicants? Rowan-Virtua SOM accepts competitive applicants from all over the country and around the globe. | Accreditation statement on college site: The Rowan-Virtua School of Osteopathic Medicine is fully-accredited by the COCA and by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE). The latest comprehensive site visit occurred in September 2021, which resulted in Rowan-Virtua SOM being granted "Accreditation with Exceptional Outcome" through 2031-2032. The Sewell campus was reviewed in June 2021 and approved in August 2021. | AACOM profile accreditation text: The Rowan-Virtua School of Osteopathic Medicine is fully-accredited by the COCA and by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE). | Campuses per COCA directory: Rowan-Virtua School of Osteopathic Medicine (Stratford, NJ; main; first class 1976); Rowan-Virtua School of Osteopathic Medicine (Sewell, NJ; additional location; first class 2021) Preferred: MCAT 505+, BBFL 126+, science GPA 3.50+ (accepted-student averages: science GPA 3.70, MCAT 509). 'SOM participates in the AAMC PREview professional readiness exam ... Completion is optional and does not determine acceptance.' AACOMAS deadline February 1; secondary and letters March 15. Campuses: Stratford and Sewell, NJ (no campus-specific requirements stated). Early Decision offered. Articulation agreements with Rutgers-Camden, Rowan, Stockton, Saint Joseph's, Monmouth and Delaware.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.