MD · Philadelphia, PA · private · applies through AMCAS
Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University
Known as Jefferson (SKMC)
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Pass/fail | AP credit | Online | Community college | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biochemistry CHEM | Recommended | — | No | Case-by-case If given a choice, a letter grade is preferred over pass/fail options. | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Biology BIOL | Recommended | — | Yes | Case-by-case If given a choice, a letter grade is preferred over pass/fail options. | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Chemistry CHEM | Recommended | — | Yes | Case-by-case If given a choice, a letter grade is preferred over pass/fail options. | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Physical Chemistry CHEM | Recommended | — | Yes | Case-by-case If given a choice, a letter grade is preferred over pass/fail options. | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Physics PHYS | Recommended | — | Yes | Case-by-case If given a choice, a letter grade is preferred over pass/fail options. | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Statistics MATH | Recommended | — | No | Case-by-case If given a choice, a letter grade is preferred over pass/fail options. | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Community-college pathways
Coursework completed at a community college is accepted.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Admission policies, in the school's words
1. All applications for admission to SKMC shall be received and processed by the Admissions Office in preparation for action by the Committee on Admissions. A mission-aligned, holistic review of all qualified applicants will be undertaken by the Committee on Admissions. 2. The Committee on Admissions shall be responsible for the selection of all students and shall have the authority to act in all matters pertaining to admissions in accordance with general policies adopted by the faculty of the college. 3. No applicant shall be admitted to SKMC without a personal interview by a member of the Committee on Admissions.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Yes None
- Canadian applicants
- Yes none
- International applicants
- Yes Must have earned a baccalaureate degree from a US or Canadian university
- DACA applicants
- Case-by-case Must have earned a baccalaureate degree from a US or Canadian university
- DACA details
- Must have earned a baccalaureate degree from a US or Canadian university
- Residency preference (school's page)
- 'No preference is given to in-state applicants.'
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- One-on-one interview with a faculty member (open file) and one-on-one interview with a student (closed file). Interviews are held in-person.
- Invitations sent
- mid-July
- Typical interview day
- 10AM-4PM, Wednesdays only
- Regional interviews
- no
- Video interviews
- No
- School's admissions page says
- All interviews for the 2027 admissions cycle will be conducted in person at SKMC in Philadelphia.
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Not on official list source
- AAMC PREview
- Not used "We are not using PREview scores in the admissions process" source
- Latest MCAT considered
- September 12, 2026
- Oldest MCAT considered
- January 2022
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Secondary application
- Required
- Yes
- Fee
- $80
- Fee waiver available
- Yes
- Deadline
- Jan 1, 2027 1/1/2027
- Who receives it
- All applicants
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Letters of evaluation
- Committee letter
- Preferred
- Letter packet
- Accepted
- Individual letters
- Accepted
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Waitlist and deposit
- Typical waitlist positions
- 200
- Offers made from the waitlist
- 40
- Procedure
- Applicants are offered acceptance from the waitlist as spots become available during our rolling admissions process
- Deposit required
- Yes in state $100 · out of state $100
- Deposit due
- April 30, 2026
- Refundable / applied to tuition
- Yes Yes
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $70,292 | $70,292 |
| Health insurance | $6,076 | $6,076 |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | $102,480 | $102,480 |
75% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $201,670.
Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026
- Applications
- 12,033 (9.5% in-state)
- Matriculants
- 286 (30.4% in-state, 69.6% out-of-state; 54.2% women)
- Applications per seat
- 42
Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Entering class 2026
- Applicants
- 13,758
- MCAT (mean)
- 514
- Women
- 54%
Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.
Transfer applications
No Contact Name: Clara Callahan, MD Phone Number: 2150556983 Email Address: clara.callahan@jefferson.edu Website:
Mission statement
Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University is committed to: educating physicians who will form and lead the integrated healthcare delivery and research teams of tomorrow; discovering new knowledge that will define the future of clinical care through investigation from the laboratory to the bedside, and into the community; and setting the standard for quality, compassionate and efficient patient care for our community and for the nation. We recognize that a diverse community is imperative to achieving excellence in patient care, education, and research. As we carry out our mission, we are committed to the highest standards of professionalism and aspire to be a community of discovery, learning, and inclusion.
Notes
FAQ profile of the 2026 entering class: 13,758 total AMCAS applications, 'Overall BCPM GPA 3.80', average total MCAT 514, average age 24, 54% women, students from 125 undergraduate schools, 27 states and eight other countries (class size, interviewed and accepted counts not stated). MCAT no older than three years; bachelor's degree from a U.S. or Canadian institution required; supplemental application fee amount not stated. The 2026-cycle admissions prospectus PDF could not be retrieved (served as HTML / 404). Campuses: Center City Philadelphia plus Lehigh Valley and Delaware campuses.
Sources for this page
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- LCME Directory - Accredited Programs
- AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.jefferson.edu/academics/colleges-schools-institutes/skmc/admissions/faq.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.jefferson.edu/academics/colleges-schools-institutes/skmc/admissions.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.