Shortlist
Menu

MD · Tyler, TX · public · applies through TMDSAS

The University of Texas at Tyler School of Medicine

Known as UT Tyler

LCME: PreliminaryWebsiteAdmissions pageClass profilesomadmissions@uttyler.edu(903) 877-7566
503MCAT mean · 2025
3.81GPA mean
40Class size
95%In-state matriculants (AAMC 2025)
—Secondary fee
Nov 13, 2026Secondary deadline
$22,442Tuition + fees, in state
$38,382Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: YesCommunity college: YesOnline courses: YesPass/fail: Case-by-case
CourseStatusHoursLabPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
Biochemistry
CHEM
Required—YesCase-by-case
Official transcript, syllabus, etc.
YesYesYes3 semester hours
Biology
BIOL
Required—YesCase-by-case
Official transcript, course syllabus, etc.
YesYesYes11 semester hours, two of which must be labs
Chemistry
CHEM
Required—YesCase-by-case
Official transcript, syllabus, etc.
YesYesYes12 semester hours, including one of the following combinations: - 2 semesters of organic chemistry and 1 semester of general inorganic chemistry (for a total of 9 semester hours with 3 labs); - 2 semesters of inorganic general chemistry and 1 semester of organic chemistry (for a total of 9 semester hours with 3 labs)
Composition & Rhetoric
ENGL
Required—NoCase-by-case
Official transcript, syllabus, etc.
YesYesYes3 semester hours of composition-based coursework
Physics
PHYS
Required—YesCase-by-case
Official transcript, syllabus, etc.
YesYesYes8 semester hours, two of which must be labs
Statistics
MATH
Required—NoCase-by-case
Official transcript, syllabus, etc.
YesYesYes3 semester hours of statistics

Community-college pathways

Upward transfer: YesAccelerated: YesSupplemental: Yes

Currently there are no restrictions on the acceptance of coursework completed at a community college.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Admission policies, in the school's words

Visit medicine.uttyler.edu for up-to-date admissions information.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Case-by-case Texas state law requires that no more than 10% of the entering classes of dental, medical, podiatric, and veterinary schools can be made up on non-Texas residents.
Canadian applicants
Case-by-case Must be a permanent U.S. resident.
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
Case-by-case Must be a permanent U.S. resident.
DACA details
Must be a permanent U.S. resident.
Residency preference (school's page)
The school seeks students invested in improving the health of East Texas and asks applicants to indicate their connection to the East Texas region; the EY2025 class had 37 Texas residents and 3 non-Texas residents.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Interview

MMIIn person
Format
All interviews will be conducted face-to-face on the campus of UT Tyler SOM.
Invitations sent
June 2026
Typical interview day
Interviews will be conducted in person. Interview day will involve two distinct interview types: multiple mini interviews and a group exercise.
Regional interviews
All interviews are hosted on the campus of UT Tyler SOM.
Video interviews
No.
School's admissions page says
In-person interview days (by invitation) that include Multiple Mini-Interviews (MMIs)

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Required source · secondary lists: MSI required, IMA —
AAMC PREview
Not stated source
Latest MCAT considered
November 13, 2026
Oldest MCAT considered
June 2022

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
—
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Nov 13, 2026 November 13, 2026
Who receives it
Submit via TMDSAS

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Letters of evaluation

Committee letter
Accepted
Letter packet
Accepted
Individual letters
Accepted

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Waitlist and deposit

Typical waitlist positions
varies
Offers made from the waitlist
—
Procedure
N/A
Deposit required
No

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$22,442$38,382
Health insurance$3,438$3,438
Total cost of attendance, year 1$60,536$76,476

100% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $0.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026

Applications
4,990 (82.7% in-state)
Matriculants
40 (95% in-state, 5% out-of-state; 52.5% women)
Applications per seat
125

Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class 2025

Matriculated
40
MCAT (mean)
503
GPA (mean)
3.81
In-state
93%
Women
53%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Transfer applications

No

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Mission statement

The School of Medicine’s mission is fourfold: Community Engagement: Embed the School of Medicine within East Texas, focusing on communication, responsiveness, and community. The School of Medicine is East Texas, and everything we do will be in partnership with our communities. Education: Recruit, support and develop a representative healthcare and research workforce from East Texas, focused on reducing health disparities in East Texas. Research: Develop an array of biomedical, clinical, translational and population-based research programs focused on understanding and eliminating health disparities in East Texas. Clinical: Expand access to top-quality healthcare in the local communities of East Texas by developing and implementing innovative healthcare systems and leveraging existing infrastructure and programs.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Notes

New school: the statistics page begins with entering year (EY) 2023 and shows 40 matriculants each year. EY2025: 19 male / 21 female (pct computed), 37 Texas residents (pct computed), average GPA 3.81, 'Average Last 30 Hours BCPM' 3.90 (not a conventional science GPA, so science_gpa fields are null), average MCAT 503. EY2024: GPA 3.65, MCAT 505; EY2023: GPA 3.75, MCAT 506. TMDSAS school; Casper SJT via Acuity required (last test date accepted November 12, 2026); MCAT no more than five years old; US citizens/permanent residents. uttyler.edu fails TLS verification in the fetch tool; pages were retrieved with a plain HTTPS client.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.