MD · San Antonio, TX · public · applies through TMDSAS (also AMCAS)
The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine
Known as UT San Antonio (Long)
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Pass/fail | AP credit | Online | Community college | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biochemistry CHEM | Required | 3 | No | No | Yes | Case-by-case Online coursework for prerequisites will be considered on a case-bycase basis. | Yes | |
| Biology BIOL | Required | 14 | Yes | No | Yes | Case-by-case Online coursework for prerequisites will be considered on a case-bycase basis. | Yes | 14 hours total, with 2 lab hours |
| Chemistry CHEM | Required | 8 | Yes | No | Yes | Case-by-case Online coursework for prerequisites will be considered on a case-bycase basis. | Yes | Inorganic or general, 8 hours with 2 lab hours |
| Composition & Rhetoric ENGL | Required | 6 | No | No | Yes | Case-by-case Online coursework for prerequisites will be considered on a case-bycase basis. | Yes | Other topics are accepted; 6 hours required |
| Genetics BIOL | Recommended | — | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Mathematics MATH | Recommended | — | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Physics PHYS | Required | 8 | Yes | No | Yes | Case-by-case Online coursework for prerequisites will be considered on a case-bycase basis. | Yes | Includes 2 lab hours; online, virtual, or other modalities will be considered |
| Psychology BESS | Recommended | — | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Statistics MATH | Required | 3 | No | No | Yes | Case-by-case Online coursework for prerequisites will be considered on a case-bycase basis. | Yes | |
| Zoology BIOL | Recommended | — | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Community-college pathways
Community college coursework is accepted.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Admission policies, in the school's words
The CASPer is required for all interviewed applicants. https://acuityinsights.app/ Also required upon invitation to interview, applicants submit a Standardized One-Way Video Interview (SOWVI) as an addition to their application materials. More information about this can be found on our Interview Day website. Other LSOM admissions policies can be found on our website. https://uthscsa.edu/medicine/education/ume/admissions
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Yes Limited to 10% of class
- Canadian applicants
- Yes US or dual citizenship is required
- International applicants
- No
- DACA applicants
- Yes Students with DACA status are considered eligible.
- DACA details
- Students with DACA status are considered eligible.
- Residency preference (school's page)
- Only U.S. citizens and permanent residents are considered for interview and acceptance; no Texas-residency percentage or preference statement appears on the admissions pages.
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- Two 30-minute (one-onone) interviews by faculty (who have the entire application) as well as senior medical students (who have essays and experiences.) The interview setting is a friendly and conversational dialogue.
- Invitations sent
- July 2026
- Typical interview day
- The Long School of Medicine Interview Day offers applicants an opportunity to interact with several faculty members and many students from all levels. It is an informative and welcoming day, prioritizing the reduction of applicants' stress. The applicant will learn about the modernized and progressive curriculum, the strong support systems, tour the campus virtually with student guides, and have many opportunities to get questions answered. It is a wonderful opportunity to experience the friendly, cooperative, and supportive environment of the school.
- Regional interviews
- Regional interviews are not offered.
- Video interviews
- The Interview Day and interviews are virtual, via a Zoom platform. In some circumstances, alternative modalities can be arranged to accommodate the applicant.
- School's admissions page says
- traditional format on Zoom: one faculty committee member and one medical student, plus a required Standard One-Way Video Interview (SOWVI)
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Required source · secondary lists: MSI required, IMA —
- AAMC PREview
- SJT required (PREview or Casper) source
- Latest MCAT considered
- September 12, 2026
- Oldest MCAT considered
- September 2023
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Secondary application
- Required
- Not stated
- Fee
- —
- Fee waiver available
- Not stated
- Deadline
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Letters of evaluation
- Committee letter
- Accepted
- Letter packet
- Accepted
- Individual letters
- Accepted
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Waitlist and deposit
- Typical waitlist positions
- All interviewed applicants remain in the wait pool.
- Offers made from the waitlist
- —
- Procedure
- All interviewed applicants are placed in the wait pool unless they request to be withdrawn.
- Deposit required
- No
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $26,798 | $42,214 |
| Health insurance | $3,438 | $3,438 |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | $60,356 | $75,772 |
76% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $137,917.
Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026
- Applications
- 5,774 (79% in-state)
- Matriculants
- 232 (87.5% in-state, 12.5% out-of-state; 47% women)
- Applications per seat
- 25
Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Transfer applications
No
Mission statement
The mission of the Long School of Medicine is to serve the needs of the citizens of Texas by providing medical education and training to medical students and physicians at all career levels and fostering an environment of life-long learning that is flexible and emphasizes professionalism, with special commitment to the preparation of physicians in both the art and science of medical practice; conducting biomedical and other healthrelated research, with particular attention to translational research; delivering exemplary health care; and providing a responsive resource in health-related affairs for the nation and the state, with particular emphasis on South Texas.
Notes
TMDSAS school; 'The Long School of Medicine does not have a secondary application' (fee recorded as 0). Applicants invited to interview must complete CASPer (not used in screening; due by the interview date) and a one-way video interview. 'Approximately 1000 applicants are selected for interview each application cycle' (approximate; not recorded). No minimum GPA/MCAT stated; 90 semester hours required; no transfer students. No class profile page found; lsom.uthscsa.edu redirects to uthscsa.edu/medicine.
Sources for this page
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- tmdsas
- LCME Directory - Accredited Programs
- AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://uthscsa.edu/medicine/education/ume/admissions · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://uthscsa.edu/medicine/education/ume/admissions/requirements · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://uthscsa.edu/medicine/education/ume/admissions/interview · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.