DO · San Antonio, TX · private · applies through AACOMAS
University of the Incarnate Word School of Osteopathic Medicine
Known as UIWSOM
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school- 'Advanced Placement and International Baccalaureate test credits are accepted with an official transcript/translation/score report showing awarded subject and credits.'
- 'UIWSOM will accept all online coursework, including laboratory credits from regionally accredited institutions.'
- 'UIWSOM will accept all pass/fail/satisfactory/unsatisfactory grades from regionally accredited institutions.'
| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Pass/fail | AP credit | Online | Community college | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biology | Required | 8 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | 'minimum of eight semester hours, including two semester hours of laboratory work'; 'C' or higher (C- does not meet the requirement) |
| General/Inorganic Chemistry | Required | 8 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Minimum of eight semester hours, including two semester hours of laboratory work |
| Organic Chemistry | Required | 8 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Minimum of eight semester hours, including two semester hours of laboratory work |
| Physics | Required | 8 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Minimum of eight semester hours, including two semester hours of laboratory work |
| English | Required | 6 | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Minimum of six semester hours of composition and/or literature |
| Advanced sciences (human anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, genetics, cell biology, neuroscience, microbiology, behavioral science, immunology) | Recommended | — | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | |
| Philosophy or other humanities | Recommended | 6 | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | |
| Math/statistics | Recommended | 6 | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Not stated 'At this time, UIWSOM cannot admit international students. All matriculants must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents.' Completion of no less than 75% of the credits required for a baccalaureate at the time of application. Entering class of 2026 was 73% Texas residents.
- International applicants
- No
- DACA applicants
- Not stated
Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- in_person 'Competitive applicants are invited to campus to interview'; format not stated.
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Not stated
- AAMC PREview
- Not stated
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $64,875 | $64,875 |
| Health insurance | — | — |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | — | — |
Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.
Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Entering class 2026
- Applicants
- 3,595
- Interviewed
- 883
- Matriculated
- 159
- MCAT (mean)
- 506
- GPA (mean)
- 3.70 · science 3.60
- In-state
- 78%
Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.
Notes
Accreditation statement on college site: The School of Osteopathic Medicine (UIWSOM) is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) to offer the academic program leading to the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (D.O.) degree. ... Following the comprehensive initial accreditation site visit and COCA review, the UIWSOM was granted full accreditation in May, 2021. The next scheduled site visit and comprehensive accreditation review is scheduled for 2028. | AACOM profile accreditation text: The School of Osteopathic Medicine (UIWSOM) is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) to offer the academic program leading to the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) degree. Applies through AACOMAS; 'As a private osteopathic medical school, UIWSOM does not participate in' TMDSAS. The 2026-2027 cycle closes March 15, 2027; rolling admissions; follows AACOMAS traffic guidelines. Entering class of 2026: overall GPA 3.7, science GPA 3.6, MCAT 506. WebFetch failed on uiw.edu domains (DNS/TLS errors); pages read in the built-in browser. San Antonio, TX.
Sources for this page
- aacom
- AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) · AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- https://osteopathic-medicine.uiw.edu/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://osteopathic-medicine.uiw.edu/about-us/accreditation.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://osteopathic-medicine.uiw.edu/about-us/index.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://osteopathic-medicine.uiw.edu/about-us/outcomes.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://osteopathic-medicine.uiw.edu/admissions/doctor-of-osteopathic-medicine/frequently-asked-questions.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://osteopathic-medicine.uiw.edu/admissions/doctor-of-osteopathic-medicine/index.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://osteopathic-medicine.uiw.edu/admissions/index.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://osteopathic.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/become-a-doctor/u-s-colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/detail-pages/com/university-of-the-incarnate-word-school-of-osteopathic-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/docs/default-source/become-doctor/us-com-directory.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/docs/default-source/research-reports/applicants-matriculants-by-com-2009-2025.xlsx?sfvrsn=a3634af4_13 · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/explore-med-schools/choose-do-explorer · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.