MD · Houston, TX · public · applies through TMDSAS
University of Houston Tilman J. Fertitta Family College of Medicine
Known as Houston (Fertitta)
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Pass/fail | AP credit | Online | Community college | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biology BIOL | Required | 11 | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | General Biology Course (100 or 200 level, or equivalent) Advanced Biology (300+ level or equivalent; Biochemistry from Biology department is acceptable) |
| Chemistry CHEM | Required | 16 | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | General Chemistry (100 or 200 level or equivalent) Organic Chemistry |
| Composition & Rhetoric ENGL | Required | 3 | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | English Composition |
| Physics PHYS | Required | 8 | Yes | No | No | Yes | Yes | General Physics (100 or 200 level or equivalent) |
| Statistics MATH | Required | 3 | No | No | No | Yes | Yes | Statistics, taught in math/statistics/psychology departments |
Community-college pathways
N/A
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Admission policies, in the school's words
o Applicants must be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident, or pending a permanent resident in order to be considered for an interview. o 90 undergraduate hours at an accredited university in the United States or Canada o All pre-medical requirements listed below must have been completed at a United States or Canadian University. Courses that do not conform to this requirement will not be accepted, even if transferred credit has been given for them by a U.S. or Canadian school. o Advanced placement credit is accepted only if the school granting the credit lists the specific course(s) and number of units granted per course on an official transcript. o It is required that applicants take the MCAT (Medical College Admission Test) within five (5) years of applying to medical school. o While there is no minimum GPA required for application, the Tilma J. Fertitta Family College of Medicine will consider applicants for admission who have demonstrated academic excellence. Our Admissions Office will NOT calculate any GPAs for non-US schools or non-grade granting degrees.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Yes Out of states applications are accepted. Up to 10% of a class may come from outside of Texas.
- Canadian applicants
- No Applicants must be US citizens or Permanent Residents
- International applicants
- No
- DACA applicants
- No
- Residency preference (school's page)
- Applicants do not have to be Texas residents, but no more than 10 percent of the class can be classified as nonresident (FAQ).
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- Virtual Interactive (Group) Interview Virtual Individual MMI
- Invitations sent
- August 1, 2026
- Typical interview day
- All interviews will be virtual for EY27. On campus experiences will be decoupled from Interactive and MMI sessions. Candidates will schedule their on campus dates after they have completed the virtual interviews.
- Regional interviews
- N/A
- Video interviews
- Yes
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Not on official list source
- AAMC PREview
- Not stated source
- Latest MCAT considered
- September 30, 2026
- Oldest MCAT considered
- September 2021
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Secondary application
- Required
- Yes
- Fee
- $60
- Fee waiver available
- Yes
- Deadline
- Two weeks after receiving email invitation with submission link
- Who receives it
- Qualified TMDSAS applicants will be emailed a link to the application portal.
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Letters of evaluation
- Committee letter
- Accepted
- Letter packet
- Accepted
- Individual letters
- Accepted
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Waitlist and deposit
- Typical waitlist positions
- TBD
- Offers made from the waitlist
- 10
- Procedure
- see TMDSAS rolling admissions information
- Deposit required
- Yes in state $100 · out of state $100
- Deposit due
- March 31, 2026
- Refundable / applied to tuition
- No Yes
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $24,268 | $37,368 |
| Health insurance | $3,458 | $3,458 |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | $56,614 | $69,714 |
100% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $41,752.
Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026
- Applications
- 5,247 (81.7% in-state)
- Matriculants
- 60 (93.3% in-state, 6.7% out-of-state; 76.7% women)
- Applications per seat
- 87
Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Transfer applications
No
Mission statement
The Tilman J. Fertitta Family College of Medicine is accountable to society for improving the overall health and healthcare of the population of Greater Houston, Texas and beyond by: · Educating physicians who will provide compassionate, high-value care to patients, families, and communities with a focus on primary care and other needed physician specialties. · Conducting interdisciplinary research to find innovative solutions to problems in health and healthcare. · Providing integrated, evidence-based, high-value care delivered to patients by interprofessional teams. · Engaging, collaborating with, and empowering under-served patient populations and community partners to improve their health and healthcare
Notes
Applies through TMDSAS; $60 secondary application fee (waivers available). The College of Medicine's admissions pages publish no class GPA/MCAT or class-size statistics (UH's separate pre-health advising office page lists figures, but it is not the college's admissions site and was not used). No minimum GPA; MCAT required, taken by September of the application year and no more than five years old; U.S. citizens and permanent residents only; interview format not stated (live tours offered to vetted applicants).
Sources for this page
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- tmdsas
- LCME Directory - Accredited Programs
- AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.uh.edu/medicine/admissions/admissions-requirements/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.uh.edu/medicine/admissions/faqs/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.uh.edu/medicine/admissions/application-process/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.