Shortlist
Menu

MD · Columbia, SC · public · applies through AMCAS

University of South Carolina School of Medicine Columbia

Known as South Carolina (Columbia)

LCME: FullWebsiteAdmissions pageClass profileadmissions@uscmed.sc.edu(803) 216-3625
509MCAT mean · 2026
3.80GPA mean
102Class size
76%In-state matriculants (AAMC 2025)
$100Secondary fee
Dec 15, 2026Secondary deadline
$44,832Tuition + fees, in state
$89,094Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: YesCommunity college: YesOnline courses: YesPass/fail: Yes
CourseStatusHoursLabPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
Biochemistry
CHEM
Recommended—NoYesYesYesYesBiochemistry - at least one semester
Biology
BIOL
Recommended—NoYesYesYesYesGeneral Biology - two semesters
Chemistry
CHEM
Recommended—NoYesYesYesYesGeneral Chemistry - two semesters and Organic Chemistry - two semesters

Community-college pathways

Upward transfer: YesAccelerated: YesSupplemental: No

Although we do not have any course prerequisites, a strong preparation in the natural sciences is highly recommended including general biology, general chemistry, organic chemistry, and biochemistry. We also recommend coursework in the social sciences (anthropology, archaeology, economics, geography, history, law, linguistics, politics, psychology, or sociology). Further advanced studies in the biological, physical and/or chemical sciences are encouraged. Courses such as physics, histology, biochemistry, genetics, and molecular biology are also recommended. Courses are always valid for admission consideration and do not have an expiration. We give preference to applicants who will, upon enrollment, hold a bachelor’s degree. We occasionally admit students on the basis of 90 semester hours of outstanding undergraduate achievement.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Admission policies, in the school's words

https://sc.edu/study/colleges_schools/medicine/internal/students/md_program/md_policies_and_pro cedures/

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Yes Close, significant ties to SC
Canadian applicants
No
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
No
Residency preference (school's page)
A state-assisted medical school that gives primary consideration to South Carolina residents; out-of-state applicants are accepted, and about 25 percent of each class comes from outside South Carolina; Early Decision is open only to South Carolina residents.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneVirtual
Format
Two 30-minute interviews.
Invitations sent
August of the application year.
Typical interview day
In addition to two virtual 30 -minute interviews, applicants will have a virtual meeting with our student ambassadors to hear about the SOM and ask questions. There is also a question and answer session with a representative of the Office of Admissions.
Regional interviews
no
Video interviews
All interviews will be virtual this year in our AMP application system.
School's admissions page says
Virtual interview day via Zoom (in the AMP system): one 45-minute interview with two Admissions Committee members, plus a Q&A with student ambassadors.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not on official list source
AAMC PREview
Not used "We are not using PREview scores in the admissions process" source
Latest MCAT considered
September 12, 2026
Oldest MCAT considered
September 2023

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
$100
Fee waiver available
Yes
Deadline
Dec 15, 2026 December 15, 2026
Who receives it
All applicants

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Letters of evaluation

Committee letter
Accepted
Letter packet
Accepted
Individual letters
Accepted

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Waitlist and deposit

Typical waitlist positions
This number varies each year.
Offers made from the waitlist
—
Procedure
Applicants are notified in early April of their waitlist status. Not all applicants who interview are placed on the waitlist. Waitlist ranking is not disclosed to applicants.
Deposit required
Yes in state $250 · out of state $250
Deposit due
April 30, 2026
Refundable / applied to tuition
No No

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$44,832$89,094
Health insurance$3,780$3,780
Total cost of attendance, year 1$75,756$120,018

87% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $225,010.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026

Applications
3,011 (17.3% in-state)
Matriculants
99 (75.8% in-state, 24.2% out-of-state; 53.5% women)
Applications per seat
30

Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class 2026

Applicants
3,254
Matriculated
102
MCAT (mean)
509
GPA (mean)
3.80 · science 3.76
In-state
77%
Women
53%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Transfer applications

case-by-case Contact Name: Mrs. Shelley Streeter Phone Number: 8032163625 Email Address: shelley.streeter@uscmed.sc.edu Website: https://sc.edu/study/colleges_schools/medicine/internal/students/m d_program/md_policies_and_procedures/documents/uscsomc_ad m_109.pdf

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Mission statement

We serve the people of South Carolina and beyond through exemplary health and medical education, transformative research, and compassionate care for all. Since the core mission of the SOM is to serve the people of South Carolina, we primarily consider applicants who are residents of the state of South Carolina or applicants who are non-residents but have a significant tie or connection to our state. Our curriculum provides opportunities for our students to interact with practicing physicians during their first two semesters of medical school. These interactions occur as a part of a collaborative relationship with one of our clinical providers. The interactions supplement the experiences that students receive from working with standardized patients. The M2 curriculum also allows our students to utilize ultrasound technology to supplement the information that is learned during the systemsbased curriculum of the second year of medical school. Part of the mission of the SOM is to provide compassionate care for all. Our students are exposed to various aspects of the Columbia and underserved community by volunteering at local shelters, by volunteering at the Free Medical Clinics, and by partnering with a variety of community service organizations that focus on the needs of the community. Additionally as a part of lectures and class discussions, our students have panels and presentations from persons that comprise our community as a part of their medical education. We strongly encourage all medical students to make a positive difference in their local communities.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Notes

Now branded the Floyd School of Medicine. Class of 2030 Profile (entering 2026): 3,254 total applicants, 102 matriculating, 78 South Carolina residents / 24 non-residents, 48 male / 54 female, average age 23.24, average cumulative GPA 3.80, average BCPM GPA 3.76, average MCAT 509, 16 states and 30+ undergraduate schools represented (pct_in_state and pct_women derived from counts). No minimum GPA or MCAT for interview consideration (FAQ cites admitted-student averages of 3.8 and 509); U.S. citizens and permanent residents only; approximately 105 matriculants per year. Secondary fee charged (amount not stated; waived for AAMC FAP).

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.