Shortlist
Menu

MD · Austin, TX · public · applies through TMDSAS

University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School

Known as UT Austin (Dell)

LCME: FullWebsiteAdmissions pageClass profileapplydellmed@utexas.edu(512) 495-5150
517MCAT mean · 2025
3.93GPA mean
50Class size
98%In-state matriculants (AAMC 2025)
$50Secondary fee
Nov 15, 2026Secondary deadline
$22,074Tuition + fees, in state
$37,138Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: YesCommunity college: YesOnline courses: YesPass/fail: Case-by-case
CourseStatusHoursLabPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
Biochemistry
CHEM
Required3NoCase-by-case
If the science prereq. courses are designated "For Science Majors," the admissions team will consider courses with a grade schema change to "satisfactory" or pass/fail as meeting the prerequisite.
YesYesYes
Biology
BIOL
Required11YesCase-by-case
If the science prereq. courses are designated "For Science Majors," the admissions team will consider courses with a grade schema change to "satisfactory" or pass/fail as meeting the prerequisite.
YesYesYes11 semester hours, 2 of which must be labs (A genetics course is strongly recommended.)
Physics
PHYS
Required8YesCase-by-case
If the science prereq. courses are designated "For Science Majors," the admissions team will consider courses with a grade schema change to "satisfactory" or pass/fail as meeting the prerequisite.
YesYesYes
Statistics
MATH
Required3NoCase-by-caseYesYesYes

Community-college pathways

Upward transfer: YesAccelerated: YesSupplemental: Yes

Dell Med will review courses completed at a community college as a component of the candidate's comprehensive academic profile. We aim to ascertain that the candidate has exhibited mastery of the content commensurate with advanced courses taken at the college or university level.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Admission policies, in the school's words

https://dellmed.utexas.edu/education/how-to-apply

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Yes Due to state statute, no more than 10% of the class can consist of non-Texas residents.
Canadian applicants
Case-by-case Must be a US Citizen or Permanent Resident
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
No
Residency preference (school's page)
Texas law requires at least 90% of the class to be Texas residents (no more than 10 percent nonresident, about five students per class of roughly 50).

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneVirtual
Format
Interviews employ innovation and traditional formats.
Invitations sent
Interview invitations may be sent as early as June and will continue on a rolling basis
Typical interview day
The interview process is designed to identify unique experiences and/or perspectives that the candidate can contribute to their class and community.
Regional interviews
no
Video interviews
All interviews will be conducted virtually.
School's admissions page says
'Comprehensive interviews' held August through February (format not labeled; application details refer to location and parking); reviewers are blind to GPA and MCAT during application review.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not on official list source
AAMC PREview
Not stated source
Latest MCAT considered
September 30, 2026
Oldest MCAT considered
January 2022

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
$50
Fee waiver available
Yes
Deadline
Nov 15, 2026 Nov 15: Priority secondary deadline. Applicants are not considered for interview until the secondary is submitted and are strongly encouraged to submit within one week of receipt.
Who receives it
Candidates invited to complete a secondary based on primary application review will be charged a fee. JAMP Scholars and SES A or B applicants receive a full fee waiver.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Letters of evaluation

Committee letter
Accepted
Letter packet
Accepted
Individual letters
Accepted

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Waitlist and deposit

Typical waitlist positions
approximately 50
Offers made from the waitlist
8
Deposit required
No

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$22,074$37,138
Health insurance$4,032$4,032
Total cost of attendance, year 1$63,184$78,248

87% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $118,846.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026

Applications
5,684 (79.6% in-state)
Matriculants
50 (98% in-state, 2% out-of-state; 44% women)
Applications per seat
114

Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class 2025

Matriculated
50
MCAT (mean)
517
GPA (mean)
3.93
In-state
98%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Transfer applications

case-by-case Contact Name: Phone Number: Email Address: applydellmed@utexas.edu Website: https://dellmed.utexas.edu/education/how-to-apply/admissionscriteria/transfer-students

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Mission statement

Our Vision Working together with our community — and powered by cutting-edge technology and digital capabilities — we set the standard for excellence in integrated, multidisciplinary patient care, pioneer research with meaningful impact, lead innovation in medical education and catalyze life sciences entrepreneurship. Our vision is defining the future of health — because we know that what starts here changes the world. Our Mission To revolutionize how people get and stay healthy: -Building a sustainable academic health system that delivers person-centered, integrated care across the continuum. -Embracing novel, collaborative solutions to ensure that everyone has the opportunity to be as healthy as possible. -Empowering patients, families and communities to be active participants in the health care process through information, access, engagement and agency. -Cultivating transformative research, entrepreneurship and innovation that leads to realworld impact. -Equipping faculty, staff and learners with the knowledge and skills necessary to lead the next generation of health care. -Leading the advancement and use of cutting-edge technologies, data and digital capabilities that serve the needs of patients, physicians, health care professionals, faculty, staff, learners and our community. Guiding Value Pursuit of our vision and mission is enabled by our guiding value: Putting Patients First. We organize care, research and education around what matters most to the people we serve — ensuring that every interaction is rooted in empathy, every innovation drives better outcomes, and every decision reflects our commitment to those at the center of it all. Core Values -Excellence -Innovation -Impact -Collaboration -Compassion -Humility -Stewardship -Altruism

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Notes

Applies through TMDSAS (May 1 to Oct 1). Admissions Criteria page, Class of 2029 (entering 2025): 50 students, 98% Texas residents, average GPA 3.93, average MCAT 517, age range 21-26, 100% match rate. The admissions team sets no minimum GPA or MCAT (the university's medical school catalog mentions a 3.2 TMDSAS GPA minimum). More than 6,000 applications per year for 50 seats. Secondary fee not stated.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.