DO · Phoenix, AZ · private · applies through AACOMAS
The Valley College of Osteopathic Medicine
Known as The Valley COM
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school- 'Laboratory courses may be completed in person or online' (only labs are addressed)
| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Pass/fail | AP credit | Online | Community college | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biology with Lab | Required | 8 | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Grade of C or better at a regionally accredited institution; 'Laboratory courses may be completed in person or online' |
| General Chemistry with Lab | Required | 8 | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | |
| Organic Chemistry with Lab | Required | 8 | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | |
| Physics with Lab | Required | 8 | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | |
| English/Writing | Required | 6 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | |
| Behavioral Sciences | Required | 6 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Not stated 'Must be a US Citizen or Permanent Resident'; 'Must NOT have previously matriculated into a DO or MD program'. Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited U.S. institution (or equivalent) required before matriculation.
- International applicants
- No
- DACA applicants
- Not stated
Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- MMI in_person 'Selected candidates will be invited for an on-campus interview with faculty and staff'; 'Multiple Mini Interview (MMI) format'; campus tour and information session; decision within 3-4 weeks after interview day.
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Not stated
- AAMC PREview
- Not stated
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $57,450 | $57,450 |
| Health insurance | — | — |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | — | — |
Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.
Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Entering class
- Matriculated
- 180
Source: the school's published class profile, retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.
Notes
Accreditation statement on college site: The Valley College of Osteopathic Medicine is pre-accredited by the American Osteopathic Association - Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA), the nationally recognized accrediting body for osteopathic medical education. | AACOM profile accreditation text: The Valley College of Osteopathic Medicine (The Valley COM) has been awarded Pre-Accreditation Status by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA). 'Applicants must score greater than 497 to be considered for interview' (landing page lists 'Minimum MCAT 497'); minimum 2.8 cumulative and 2.8 science GPA. Total minimum 44 semester hours of prerequisite coursework. Rolling admissions through AACOMAS (2027 cycle); Phoenix, AZ; recruiting the Class of 2030. Site is JavaScript-rendered; WebFetch returned only the page title, so pages were read in the built-in browser.
Sources for this page
- aacom
- AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) · AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- https://osteopathic.org/2026/01/12/december-2025-accreditation-decisions-for-colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://osteopathic.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://thevalleycom.org/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://thevalleycom.org/academics/program · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://thevalleycom.org/accreditation · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://thevalleycom.org/admissions · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://thevalleycom.org/admissions/apply · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://thevalleycom.org/admissions/requirements · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://thevalleycom.org/assets/index-BPwFLOpM.js · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/become-a-doctor/u-s-colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/detail-pages/com/the-valley-college-of-osteopathic-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/docs/default-source/become-doctor/us-com-directory.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/explore-med-schools/choose-do-explorer · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.