DO · Blacksburg, VA · private · applies through AACOMAS
Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine
Known as VCOM
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school| Course | Status | Hours | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|
| Biological Sciences | Required | 4 | 4 semester credit hours; lab not stated |
| Physics | Required | 6 | 6 semester credit hours |
| General and Inorganic Chemistry | Required | 6 | 6 semester credit hours |
| Organic Chemistry | Required | 6 | 6 semester credit hours, 'biochemistry may also be counted' |
| English and Composition | Required | 6 | 6 semester credit hours |
| Additional biomedical science (anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, immunology, microbiology, virology, genetics) | Required | 9 | 9 semester credit hours at the 200 level or above |
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Not stated Applicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent U.S. residents. Foreign coursework must be evaluated by an AACOMAS-approved transcript evaluation company. Four campuses (Virginia, Carolinas, Auburn, Louisiana) share the same requirements; applicants name a preferred campus.
- International applicants
- No
- DACA applicants
- Not stated
Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- in_person Interviews 'scheduled between August and April at the VCOM campus that is considering you for placement'.
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Not stated
- AAMC PREview
- Not stated
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Secondary application
- Required
- Yes
- Fee
- $25
- Fee waiver available
- Not stated
- Deadline
- Who receives it
- Secondary application includes standardized test scores, essay questions, and a $25 processing fee; by email invitation.
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $52,500 | $52,500 |
| Health insurance | — | — |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | — | — |
Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.
Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Entering class
- Matriculated
- 180
- MCAT (mean)
- 503.2
- GPA (mean)
- 3.68
- In-state
- 57%
Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.
Notes
Accreditation statement on college site: VCOM currently holds the status of Accreditation for 10 years. | AACOM profile accreditation text: VCOM is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA). | Campuses per COCA directory: Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (Blacksburg, VA; main; first class 2003); Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine-Auburn (Auburn, AL; branch campus; first class 2015); Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine-Carolinas (Spartanburg, SC; branch campus; first class 2011); Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine-Louisiana (Monroe, LA; branch campus; first class 2020) 3.4 science and cumulative GPA (4.0 scale) calculated over the last 90 hours of the baccalaureate or master's degree. Courses must be completed within the last five years before application. Interview guarantee agreements with listed schools; Bluefield/VCOM MABS pathway.
Sources for this page
- aacom
- AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) · AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- https://osteopathic.org/2025/08/29/august-2025-accreditation-decisions-for-colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://osteopathic.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/become-a-doctor/u-s-colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/detail-pages/com/edward-via-college-of-osteopathic-medicine-auburn · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/detail-pages/com/edward-via-college-of-osteopathic-medicine-carolinas · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/detail-pages/com/edward-via-college-of-osteopathic-medicine-louisiana · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/detail-pages/com/edward-via-college-of-osteopathic-medicine-virginia-campus · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/docs/default-source/become-doctor/us-com-directory.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/docs/default-source/research-reports/applicants-matriculants-by-com-2009-2025.xlsx?sfvrsn=a3634af4_13 · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/explore-med-schools/choose-do-explorer · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/about · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/about/accreditation-state-authorization-and-professional-licensure · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/about/economic-impact · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/about/mission-and-goals · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/about/our-history · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/admissions · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/admissions/accepted-student-information · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/admissions/applying · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/admissions/applying/early-decision-track · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/admissions/applying/faq · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/admissions/applying/requirements · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/admissions/applying/step-by-step · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/admissions/why-vcom · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/events/vcom-virginia-white-coat-ceremony-fall-2026 · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/locations · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/locations/auburn · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/locations/carolinas · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/locations/louisiana · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/locations/virginia · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/news-events/news · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.vcom.edu/student-life/white-coat-ceremony · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.