MD · Richmond, VA · public · applies through AMCAS
Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine
Known as VCU
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Pass/fail | AP credit | Online | Community college | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biochemistry CHEM | Required | 3 | No | No | No | No | Yes | |
| Biology BIOL | Required | 8 | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes | May be satisfied by general biology, general zoology or botany) |
| Chemistry CHEM | Required | 8 | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes | |
| Composition & Rhetoric ENGL | Required | 6 | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Writing intensive English composition & rhetoric courses, only. |
| Mathematics MATH | Required | 6 | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | College-level math or statistics |
| Organic Chemistry CHEM | Required | 8 | Yes | No | No | No | Yes | Organic 1 is required. Organic 2 is optional, if needed to complete major requirements for graduation. |
| Physics PHYS | Required | 8 | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes | |
| Psychology BESS | Recommended | 3 | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Highly recommended |
| Sociology BESS | Recommended | 3 | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Highly recommended |
Community-college pathways
VCU School of Medicine accepts credit for courses completed at a community college as reported on their official transcript.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Admission policies, in the school's words
All applicants must have a degree (undergraduate and/or graduate) from a college or university that is accredited in the US or a Canadian equivalent. Communication throughout the application process will be made by email through our application portal. Pre-requisite Courses Pre-requisite courses are required and must be completed by June 30 of the year of planned matriculation. For a list of current pre-requisites (updated January 2025) please visit: https://medschool.vcu.edu/admissions/prospective/#d.en.650560. We will not accept on-line course substitutions for science coursework and labs. P/F Coursework We require letter grades for any science coursework completed after December 2021. MCAT Requirements We will accept MCAT scores taken in 2024, 2025 and 2026. The last eligible 2026 date is September 12, 2026. We will evaluate applications based on the most recent single score or the average of scores for all tests taken within the cycle year (January – September 2026). CASPer Situational Judgement Assessment All applicants are required to complete the American Professional Health Sciences (CSP10111) CASPer situational judgment assessment. The last eligible date to take the CASPer assessment for this cycle is September 30, 2026. Reapplicants must complete a new assessment. Please refer to https://acuityinsights.app for more information. Letters of Recommendation For details regarding letters of recommendation, please visit the VCU School of Medicine website: https://medschool.vcu.edu/admissions/prospective/#d.en.650560
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Yes All out-of-state applicants are considered in the selection process.
- Canadian applicants
- Yes All Canadian applicants must be a citizen or permanent resident of Canada.
- International applicants
- Yes International applicants must have a degree from a U.S. accredited institution, along with a valid VISA, and if accepted, must document ability to pay tuition & fees for at least 4-years of study.
- DACA applicants
- Case-by-case Will be accepted on a case-by-case basis.
- DACA details
- Will be accepted on a case-by-case basis.
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- Virtual Multiple-Mini Interview (MMI)
- Invitations sent
- late July
- Typical interview day
- VCU School of Medicine conducts interviews using a virtual Multiple Mini Interview format. Interviews are conducted on select Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and/or Thursdays from August until March. All information regarding the interview day will be available in the MedAdmit portal for applicants who are selected for interview.
- Regional interviews
- Regional interviews are not available.
- Video interviews
- The MMI format is conducted virtually.
- School's admissions page says
- Multiple Mini Interview (MMI) via Zoom with six to eight stations.
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Required source · secondary lists: MSI required, IMA —
- AAMC PREview
- Not used "We are not using PREview scores in the admissions process" source
- Latest MCAT considered
- September 12, 2026
- Oldest MCAT considered
- January 2024
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Secondary application
- Required
- Yes
- Fee
- $100
- Fee waiver available
- Yes
- Deadline
- 30 days after secondary application is granted.
- Who receives it
- Secondary application is sent to screened applicants
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Letters of evaluation
- Committee letter
- Accepted
- Letter packet
- Accepted
- Individual letters
- Accepted
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Waitlist and deposit
- Typical waitlist positions
- Varies by year
- Offers made from the waitlist
- 75
- Procedure
- The waitlist will be active from April 1, 2027, until either the class is full or the first day of classes (July 19, 2027)
- Deposit required
- Yes in state $100 · out of state $100
- Refundable / applied to tuition
- Yes Yes
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $41,660 | $67,318 |
| Health insurance | $3,412 | $3,412 |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | $88,878 | $116,112 |
72% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $227,102.
Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026
- Applications
- 8,306 (14.1% in-state)
- Matriculants
- 184 (63% in-state, 37% out-of-state; 61.4% women)
- Applications per seat
- 45
Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Entering class
- MCAT (mean)
- 512
- GPA (mean)
- 3.79 · science 3.70
Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.
Transfer applications
No
Mission statement
Our mission is to improve health through exceptional and innovative discovery, training and patient care. With the help of our strategic plan, we will achieve our vision of being known for the accomplishments of our trainees, faculty, staff and alumni in research, education and patient care.
Notes
Prospective Applicants page (year not stated): MCAT minimum 503, average 512 (another section of the page says 513); undergraduate GPA minimum 3.3, average 3.79; science GPA minimum 3.3, average 3.7. CASPer required; the school 'does not currently participate in the AAMC PREview program'. Student-selection policy: applicants with MCAT above 503 and GPA above 3.3 (or graduate science GPA above 3.4) are invited to the secondary. No class size, applicant counts or demographic breakdown published; secondary fee not stated ($100 on the page is the matriculation deposit).
Sources for this page
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- LCME Directory - Accredited Programs
- AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://medschool.vcu.edu/admissions/prospective/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://medschool.vcu.edu/admissions/md/current-applicants/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.