Shortlist
Menu

DO · Hattiesburg, MS · private · applies through AACOMAS

William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Known as WCUCOM

COCA: AccreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
498.1MCAT mean
3.50GPA mean
175Class size
19%In-state matriculants
—Secondary fee
Apr 15, 2027Secondary deadline
$50,500Tuition + fees, in state
$50,500Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: Not statedCommunity college: Not statedOnline courses: NoPass/fail: Not stated
CourseStatusHoursPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
English Composition and Literature
Required6Not statedNot statedNoNot stated'Writing intensive' courses are generally not accepted for this requirement; a final passing grade required in each prerequisite
General Chemistry
Required8Not statedNot statedNoNot statedLab 'where applicable as determined by WCUCOM'
Organic Chemistry
Required8Not statedNot statedNoNot statedLab 'where applicable as determined by WCUCOM'
Physics
Required8Not statedNot statedNoNot statedLab 'where applicable as determined by WCUCOM'
Biological Sciences
Required12Not statedNot statedNoNot statedLab 'where applicable as determined by WCUCOM'
Advanced biology (cell and molecular biology, histology, comparative anatomy, biochemistry, genetics, microbiology, physiology)
Recommended—Not statedNot statedNoNot stated'Strongly recommended'
Advanced math, psychology, social studies, economics, speech, philosophy
Recommended—Not statedNot statedNoNot statedDescribed as 'desirable'

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Yes International applicants: proficiency in written and spoken English (TOEFL may be required); foreign coursework evaluated for U.S. equivalence; at least one year of U.S. undergraduate or graduate training before consideration; F-1 visa with a WCUCOM-issued I-20; non-permanent residents must prove ability to finance their education. Preference to applicants from Mississippi, other Gulf South regions, and rural, medically underserved areas. At least 75% of the credits needed for a baccalaureate (90 semester hours) from an accredited institution.
International applicants
Yes
DACA applicants
Not stated

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneIn person
Format
in_person Selected applicants with a completed file are invited to a formal personal interview; applicants 'visit the campus'; format not stated.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Required source · secondary lists: MSI required, IMA —
AAMC PREview
Not stated

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
—
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Apr 15, 2027 April 15
Who receives it
Secondary application sent to applicants meeting general qualifications; CASPer (Acuity Insights) required as part of the secondary, from a test taken during the current cycle; fee not stated; materials due April 15.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$50,500$50,500
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class

Matriculated
175
MCAT (mean)
498.1
GPA (mean)
3.50
In-state
19%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

In-state/regional preference (college site): The WCUCOM Admissions Committee will consider applications from all qualified individuals; however, strong preference is given to students from Mississippi, other Gulf South regions, and rural, medically underserved areas of the country. The Admissions Committee seeks those individuals who clearly identify with the WCUCOM mission statement. | WCUCOM is a private institution and encourages applications from all qualified students who are interested in pursuing a career in osteopathic medicine. However, qualified applicants from Mississippi and the targeted regions of the Gulf South will be given preference for admission to WCUCOM. | Accreditation statement on college site: The William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine (WCUCOM) received full accreditation on May 3, 2014 by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA). | AACOM profile accreditation text: William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine (WCU-COM) is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) with its next accreditation review in academic year 2034-35. AACOMAS application with official MCAT scores due March 15; secondary materials April 15; applications close once the class is filled. Admission is tentative until prerequisites are completed; active participation in OMM labs is an admission, matriculation and graduation requirement. Hattiesburg, MS.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.