Shortlist
Menu

DO · Pomona, CA · private · applies through AACOMAS

Western University of Health Sciences, College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific

Known as WesternU/COMP

COCA: AccreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
509MCAT mean · 2025
3.82GPA mean
227Class size
90%In-state matriculants
—Secondary fee
Mar 15, 2027Secondary deadline
$72,040Tuition + fees, in state
$72,040Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: YesCommunity college: Not statedOnline courses: Not statedPass/fail: Not stated
CourseStatusHoursLabPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
College English
Required6Not statedNot statedYesNot statedNot statedMinimum one academic year (6 semester units)
Behavioral Sciences
Required6Not statedNot statedYesNot statedNot statedMinimum one academic year (6 semester units)
Biological Sciences with lab
Required8YesNot statedYesNot statedNot statedMinimum one academic year (8 semester units)
Organic Chemistry with lab
Required8YesNot statedYesNot statedNot statedMinimum one academic year (8 semester units)
Inorganic Chemistry with lab
Required8YesNot statedYesNot statedNot statedMinimum one academic year (8 semester units)
Physics with lab
Required8YesNot statedYesNot statedNot statedMinimum one academic year (8 semester units)
Biochemistry
Recommended—Not statedNot statedYesNot statedNot stated'Not required but recommended'
Genetics
Recommended—Not statedNot statedYesNot statedNot stated'Not required but recommended'
Physiology
Recommended—Not statedNot statedYesNot statedNot stated'Not required but recommended'

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Not stated FAQ: 'we can accept applications for the Lebanon campus and the Pomona campus from international students'; no separate application or fee. International applicants, or any other applicants who are not U.S. citizens and are living in the U.S., must provide proof of legal U.S. residency before matriculation. All prerequisites must be completed at a regionally accredited U.S. institution (or USDE-recognized/approved equivalent) by June 1 of the entry year; non-U.S. coursework (excluding Canada) must be evaluated by an approved service. 'COMP does not accept alternative educational experience or professional training to meet admissions requirements.'
International applicants
Yes
DACA applicants
Not stated

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-one
Format
Interviews conducted September through April; invitations by email two to four weeks in advance; no second interviews within the same cycle. Format and modality not stated.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Not stated

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
—
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Mar 15, 2027 2027-03-15
Who receives it
Applicants meeting minimum requirements are directed to a secure web page to file the secondary within 10 business days; fee amount not stated; applying to both campuses requires two secondary applications and two processing fees (one set of letters).

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$72,040$72,040
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class 2025

Applicants
5,433
Interviewed
881
Matriculated
227
MCAT (mean)
509
GPA (mean)
3.82 · science 3.65
In-state
90%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

Accreditation statement on college site: [COMP, including Heatherington College of Osteopathic Medicine (WesternU HCOM)] is Fully Accredited and Achieved the Maximum 10 years Accreditation with Exceptional Outcome during 2022 visit. | AACOM profile accreditation text: WesternU is accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and Universities of the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC). WesternU/COMP is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA). | Campuses per COCA directory: Western University of Health Sciences/College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific (Pomona, CA; main; first class 1978); Western University of Health Sciences/College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific-Northwest (Lebanon, OR; additional location; first class 2011) No minimum MCAT ('No, but we recommend that you plan to exceed the average scores'); no minimum GPA stated. Class entering August 2025 (California): average overall GPA 3.82, MCAT 509, 90% in-state. AACOMAS opens May 4, 2026 and closes March 1, 2027; secondary closes March 15, 2027; rolling. Baccalaureate degree required for matriculation; minimum 90 semester units. Applicants may apply to the Pomona campus, the Lebanon (Oregon) campus, or both. Pomona, CA. Formerly COMP-Northwest; Lebanon, OR campus. Shares the COMP application requirements page; applicants select the Lebanon campus (and/or Pomona) in AACOMAS, with a separate secondary and fee per campus. Class entering August 2025 (Oregon): average overall GPA 3.58, MCAT 507, 42% in-state. AACOMAS May 4, 2026 - March 1, 2027; secondary March 15, 2027.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.