DO · Lewisburg, WV · public · applies through AACOMAS
West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine
Known as WVSOM
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| English | Required | 6 | Not stated | A 'C' or better must be earned in all prerequisite coursework |
| Behavioral Sciences | Required | 6 | Not stated | |
| Biology/Zoology | Required | 6 | Not stated | Two of the six required lab hours must be Biology labs |
| Chemistry | Required | 12 | Not stated | '12 semester hours, including 3 hours of Biochemistry' |
| Biochemistry | Required | 3 | Not stated | Counted within the 12 chemistry hours |
| Physics | Required | 6 | Not stated | |
| Science laboratory | Required | 6 | Yes | 6 semester hours of labs: two hours must be Biology labs; the other four can be any mix of Biology, Chemistry or Physics labs |
| Anatomy, Embryology, Cell Biology, Histology, Medical Microbiology, Modern Genetics, Physiology, Immunology, Psychology, Sociology | Recommended | — | Not stated | Recommended (optional) |
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Yes 'Students are required to have U.S. citizenship or have proof of permanent resident status (green card).' Out-of-state residents pay an $80 supplemental fee (waived for WV residents); a full tuition waiver is advertised for West Virginia residents. 90 semester hours from a regionally accredited college or university.
- International applicants
- No
- DACA applicants
- Not stated
Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- Format and modality not stated; the 'Applied: What's Next?' page refers to forms to complete 'prior to arriving on campus'.
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Not stated
- AAMC PREview
- Not stated
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Secondary application
- Required
- Yes
- Fee
- $80
- Fee waiver available
- Not stated
- Deadline
- Who receives it
- Applicants with a verified AACOMAS application are eligible to receive a supplemental application; screening thresholds: science GPA 3.0 and MCAT 490. The supplemental fee is due only when invited to interview: WV residents waived, out-of-state residents $80.
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $23,594 | $56,394 |
| Health insurance | — | — |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | — | — |
Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.
Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Entering class
- Matriculated
- 207
- MCAT (mean)
- 503
- In-state
- 26%
Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.
Notes
Accreditation statement on college site: WVSOM is fully accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) ... Current Status: Accredited; Next Accreditation Visit: 2029-2030 | AACOM profile accreditation text: WVSOM is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) and American Osteopathic Association’s Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (AOA COCA). Screening criteria (guidance only): science GPA 3.0 and MCAT 490 to receive a supplemental; competitive science GPA 3.2 and MCAT 498; averages 3.60 and 503. Applications via the AACOMAS 2027 cycle; review throughout the cycle; final transcripts due July 1. Lewisburg, WV.
Sources for this page
- aacom
- AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) · AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- https://osteopathic.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/become-a-doctor/u-s-colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/detail-pages/com/west-virginia-school-of-osteopathic-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/docs/default-source/become-doctor/us-com-directory.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/docs/default-source/research-reports/applicants-matriculants-by-com-2009-2025.xlsx?sfvrsn=a3634af4_13 · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/explore-med-schools/choose-do-explorer · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/Admissions · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/about · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/about/accreditation · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/about/history · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/about/outcomes · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/academics/do · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/academics/do/ume-program-outcomes · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/admissions · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/admissions/do · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/admissions/do/application-requirements · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/admissions/do/applied-next · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/admissions/do/apply · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/admissions/do/faq · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/admissions/do/financial-aid-and-scholarships · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/admissions/do/pipeline-programs · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/admissions/outcomes · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/departments · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/policies · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/policies/st-10 · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wvsom.edu/strategic-plan · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.